## COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS, PROMOTION, AND TENURE ANNUAL REPORT 2000-2001

## MEETINGS:

The Committee on Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure met thirty times during the 2000-2001 academic year.

In addition, the committee held a meeting for new faculty in September to discuss criteria for continuing service as well as reappointment and tenure procedures; one in April for newly reappointed faculty to consider tenure

the full text of these motions is available in the office of the VPAA/DOF, and the changes will be incorporated in the 2001-2002 Faculty Handbook.

## **PROMOTION PROCEDURES:**

The current Faculty Handbook offers little guidance with respect to procedures for promotion to the rank of professor. Moreover, in reviewing departmental procedures across the college, CAPT found many differences from one department to another. One department sends all department letters to CAPT; another requires no letters from department members at all. One requires letters from external reviewers; another does not. Such broad differences make for the perception of inequities, and may even produce inequities, for individual candidates. In an attempt to address these problems, CAPT brought a series of proposals to Academic Staff at the May retreat. The very useful discussion with members of academic staff will assist CAPT in refining these proposals for presentation to the faculty.

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS:

CAPT is grateful to Gerry Erchak, who replaced Joel Smith in the fall semester; and to both Tim Koechlin and Greg Pfitzer for serving as alternates in personnel deliberations. CAPT also appreciates the extraordinary work of the staff in the office of the VPAA/DOF, especially the efforts of Chris McGill and Sue Blair--as well as the support of Margaret Irving and Anne Montanino in the President's Office. CAPT is also grateful to Mehmet Odekon, Chair of CFG, and the other members of his committee, for their prompt and helpful advice on many occasions. Finally, members of CAPT have greatly benefited from the wisdom of outgoing members Susan Lehr and Joel Smith.

2000-2001 CAPT 2001: Susan Lehr Joel Smith (spring) Gerry Erchak (fall) 2002: Una Bray Susan Kress (chair) 2003: John Anzalone Penny Jolly

2001-2002 CAPT 2002: Una Bray Susan Kress 2003: John Anzalone (chair) Penny Jolly 2004: Roy Ginsberg Mary Lynn