ANNUAL REPORT of CAPT, 2012-13

CAPT 2012-13

Mark Hofmann, Mathematics and Computer Science, Chair John Brueggemann, Sociology Jennifer Delton, History Kate Leavitt, Art Kyle Nichols, Geosciences Mark Youndt, Management and Business

MEETINGS

CAPT met forty-two times during the year. This included regularly scheduled committee meetings as well as meetings with the VPAA/DOF candidates, extraordinary meetings with the VPAA/DOF and the President, and informational meetings with tenure track and tenured faculty.

Informational meetings were held with new tenure-track faculty, faculty appointed to their second three-year terms, candidates for promotion, and candidates for tenure at the end of their fifth year. Chairs of departments were invited to the meetings with third-year re-appointees, candidates for promotion, and candidates for tenure. The CAPT chair met separately with first-year faculty and with candidates and their chairs unable to attend the scheduled meetings. In addition, at the end of the year, CAPT met with faculty who had been tenured within the last three years to discuss promotion criteria.

The chair of CAPT and other committee members met twice with the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees. In February, CAPT met with the Academic Affairs subcommittee to report and discuss tenure recommendations. CAPT met the subcommittee again in May to report and discuss promotion recommendations.

CAPT had several meetings with President Glotzbach, Dean of Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs Beau Breslin and Associate Dean of Faculty for Personnel, Development and Diversity Paty Rubio on a variety of personnel and procedural matters.

CAPT met with all four candidates for the position of Dean of Faculty and Vice President for

The administration and the chair of FEC

CAPT was consulted with on the appointment of one endowed chair.

CAPT reviewed several nominees for future honorary degrees and passed along recommendations to the appropriate member of the administration.

CAPT for 2013-14

Kate Leavitt, Art (LV, S'14)
Denise Smith, Health and Exercise Sciences (replacement for Leavitt) S'14
Mark Youndt, Management and Business
John Brueggemann, Sociology
Kyle Nichols, Geosciences
Matthew Hockenos, History
Mehmet Odekon, Economics

Kate Leavitt and Mark Youndt will serve as co-chairs for Fall 2013 Mark Youndt will serve as chair for Spring 2014