Committee on Admissions and Student Aid (CASA) Annual Report 2003-2004

The Committee on Admissions and Student Aid met 6 times during the 2003-2004 academic year. In addition the committee hosted an informational meeting on admissions and financial aid for faculty/staff with children applying to Skidmore or other colleges. The committee received monthly reports on admissions and student aid from Mary Lou Bates and Bob Shorb. In addition the committee was involved in the following issues:

1. Throughout the academic year the Committee monitored the progress of student athletes admitted under the Athletic Admissions Policy that was established the previous year. At the close of the year the committee reviewed the academic success of these students as a group and by specific sport.

Small College Conference on Financia Henderson and Joe Stankovich attende (National Survey of Student Engageme

- 4. The committee reviewed several issurecently instituted policy of removing discussed as well as information from In light of the changes in SAT testing to performance will be reconsidered in the
- 5. The Committee approved the follow

Those students applying for admission the writing component) will not have to component.

Starting with the class of 2011, those s to submit the ACT with writing compo

6. The Committee discussed the issue of fall semester.

2003-2004 Membership

Mary Lou Bates, Dean of Admissions Bob Shorb, Director of Student Aid an John Young, Director of Admissions Mark Hofmann (chair), Department of Alice Dean (2 year replacement), Depa Tim Burns (1 year replacement), Depa Christina levith, Associate Director, De Sue Layden, Director of Higher Educa Erika Entinger '06 Cheryl Jacobs '06

2004-2005 Membership

Mary Lou Bates, Dean of Admissions and Student Aid
Bob Shorb, Director of Student Aid and Family Finance
John Young, Director of Admissions
Mark Hofmann (chair), Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Alice Dean, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Pat Fehling, Department of Exercise Science
Christina Levith, Associate Director, Dean of Studies (ex-officio)
Sue Layden, Director of Higher Education Opportunity Program (ex-officio)
(Returning student representatives Erika Entinger '06
Cheryl Jacobs '06)

Respectfully submitted,

Mark Hofmann 2003-2004 Chair