The Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) would like to begin by expressing gratitude to some key people with whom FEC has worked closely this academic year: Michael Orr, Debbie Peterson and the entire Office of the Dean of the Faculty; Adam Reagan, Jesse Rock, and Tony Kowalick from IT; and Idalia Sepulveda from the Office of Communications and Marketing. We are so grateful to these colleagues for their energy and support of FEC's work throughout this year.

FEC began work in July in consultation with the DOF/VPAA regarding vaccination mandates for faculty and staff. Our work then moved to considerations for holding faculty meetings in a

In addition, the FEC chair participated in numerous meetings with members of the faculty and IT, and FEC participated in additional meetings with the Dean of the Faculty, the President, and other committees.

FEC held elections to fill 14 positions on 10 governance committees. The following members of the faculty were elected to serve three-year terms, beginning Fall 2022:

Appointments & Tenure Committee (ATC): John Brueggemann, Marketa Wolfe

Promotions Committee (PC): Adrienne Zuerner

Faculty Executive Committee (FEC): Dominique Vuvan

Institutional Policy & Planning Committee (IPPC): Rodrigo Schneider

Committee on Educational Policies & Planning (CEPP): Lisa Jackson-Schebetta, Nick Junkerman

Committee on Academic Freedom& Rights (CAFR): A.J. Schneller

Curriculum Committee (CC): Maggie Greaves Ozgur

Faculty Development Committee (FDC): Pushi Prasad, Tim Wientzen

Periclean Honors Forum Council (HFC): Madushi Raththagala

Athletic Council (AC): Paul Arciero, Lucy Oremland

In addition, FEC worked with the following committees to secure one-year replacements for AY 22–23:

Appointments & Tenure Committee (ATC): Reg Lilly, Leigh Wilton Committee on Educational Policies & Planning (CEPP): Bob Turner Curriculum Committee (CC): Jessica Somerville-Braun

The current service mandate continues to have drawbacks that will be important to consider when the system is formally reviewed in AY 23–24. These concerns have become a regular occurrence in recent years. In particular:

- There were two elections where only one candidate met eligibility criteria—in one case, the Chair of FEC recruited a candidate from the Pre-Professional division so that there could be an election
- Elections this year raised ongoing concerns about the imbalance between service needs and the size of the college workforce. This problem transcends whatever "system" FEC employs to populate committees and will need to be addressed in some way (e.g., trim membership size/membership constraints and reconsider which committees constitute the core of faculty governance)
- FEC will have to begin pulling faculty from the ad hoc pool—who are not available for the full three-year-term—for elections where there are too few candidates

until AY23–24, FEC anticipates hosting various meetings and discussions in AY 22–23 to begin the conversation about reviewing the governance system.

FEC appointed 5 members of the faculty to serve on 4 standing governance Committees (one consultative appointment is still in the process of being filled). Appointments for terms beginning Fall 2022 are as follows:

Committee on Intercultural & Global Understanding (CIGU): (In process) Faculty Advisory Board (FAB): Lucia Hulsether, Christopher Mann Committee on Academic Standing (CAS): Kyle Nichols Self-Determined Majors Committee (SDM): Michael Paulmeno Subcommittee on Responsible Citizenship: Sarah Day-O'Connell

During fall of 2021, FEC hosted two Committee of the Whole discussions. The first, held during the October 21 faculty meeting, facilitated discussion on the formation of a Faculty Advisory Committee concerned with reviewing the process of approving/declining requests for tenure lines from departments and programs (more detail below under Con(n(n( (I) 14sseve deee TJ0.0(c) 4 (p)-4 (i) 10 process).

the DOF/VPAA on applying those criteria to determine which requests should be approved. As stated above, FEC held a Committee of the Whole and followed up with a brief faculty survey in advance of seeking nominations/self-nominations and facilitating a vote for this committee.

Additionally, the DOF/VPAA consulted and tasked FEC with the creation of a Faculty Compensation Study Working Group, the purpose of which was to provide recommendations and advice to the DOF/VPAA on faculty compensation including selecting the peer group of institutions used as market comparators for benchmarking faculty salaries, determining criteria for considering internal salary equity, and establishing targets for external benchmarking of faculty salaries.

During the fall semester, FEC also worked with President Conner and ATC in soliciting nominations/self-nominations and holding a vote

Faculty Executive Committee (FEC): Xiaoshuo Hou

Institutional Policy and Planning Committee (IPPC): Kurt Smemo Committee on Educational Policies and Planning (CEPP): Leigh Wilton Committee on Academic Freedom and Rights (CAFR): Siobhan Hart

Curriculum Committee (CC): Chris Vecsey

Faculty Development Committee (FDC): Flagg Taylor Periclean Honors Forum Council (PHFC): Flagg Taylor

Athletic Council (AC): Jason Breves Faculty Advisory Board (FAB): (Pending)

Committee on Academic Standing (CAS): David Cohen

Self-Determined Majors Committee (SDM): Catherine Berheide

Committee on Intercultural and Global Understanding (CIGU): Aurelia Ball