Committee on Faculty Governance Motion on Promotion of Artists- and Writers-in-Residence, 26 April 2002

On March 7, 2002, Susan Bender, Associate Dean of the Faculty, gathered an *ad hoc* Task Force consisting of Gautam Dasgupta (Theater), Terry Diggory (English), Richard Hihn (Music), Tad Kuroda (History), Mehmet Odekon (Economics), and Peter Stake (Art) to review the FHB language on the promotion of Artists- and Writers-in-Residence. On behalf of the ad hoc Task Force and the CAPT, the CFG moves that the following changes (in bold) be incorporated into the current Faculty Handbook:

IV.C.b (p.104)

Artist or Writer-in-Residence:

promotion. Promotion to Distinguished rank is based upon merit and not guaranteed by years of service.

These changes will go into effect at the start of the 2002-2003 academic year and where necessary the principle of grandparenting should be applied.

Rationale:

Currently tenure-track and library faculty ranks are on a three-tier system. The proposed changes convert the ranks for AIRs and WIRs from the current two-tier to a three-tier system, allowing the possibility for a promotion at the sixth year review and then an additional promotion thereafter.