## Faculty Development Committee December 2, 2014 3:45-4:45 LIB 128A

- I. Announcements:
  - A. Distinguished Faculty Service candidates advised and recipient informed. Announcement at Faculty Meeting, Friday Dec. 5, 2014.
  - B. Established meeting time for Sp '14 same time/same place.
  - C. Draft of letter for 2015-16 budget request. Increases especially for 1, 3, and 4: 1) **Sabbatical Enhancements,** 2) Summer Collaborative Research Grants, 3) **Travel to Read Funds**, and 4) **Faculty Development Research Grants.**
- II. Minutes attached
- III. Old Business
- IV. New Business
  Faculty candidates for commencement speaker

## Faculty Development Committee Meeting Minutes November 11, 2014

#### Present:

- · Shirley Smith (Chair)
- · Jim Kennelly (Faculty Representative)
- · Greg Pfitzer (Faculty Representative)
- · Rachel Roe-Dale (Faculty Representative)
- · Paty Rubio (Associate Dean of the Faculty)
- · Bill Tomlinson (Director, Sponsored Research)

#### 1. Announcements:

The Chair announced that letters had been sent to Moseley nominees

The Chair discussed the status of letters and emails sent to emeriti regarding requests for Emeritus Faculty Development Funds.

The Chair announced that letters to year-sabbatical and enhanced sabbatical recipients (with proviso: "pending approval by BOT)" have been sent.

- 2. The minutes of the October 28, 2014 meeting were approved.
- 3. Old Business: N/A

#### 4. New Business:

The Committee discussed various budget items for the 2015-2016 academic year related to: 1) Sabbatical Enhancements, 2) Summer Collaborative Research Grants, 3) Travel to Read Funds, and 4) Faculty Development Research Grants. There was agreement that modest increases should be sought in those categories of funding that directly impact faculty development, especially the first, third and fourth initiatives.

The Committee discussed the candidacies of nominees for the Distinguished Faculty Service Award. A selection was made. If it is in accordance with standard practice--the Chair will check on this--a letter will go out to the award recipient in the near future, and an announcement will be made on the floor of the December faculty meeting.

5. The meeting adjourned at 5:00. Respectfully submitted, Greg Pfitzer

# DRAFT OF FDC BUDGET REQUEST LETTER 2012 DRAFT

D that ing to that pan to kan C He Hej **jt**h Ð ğ Ó ø ₽ ib bi **ib**h to ken C ΕΝV Ð h **ta** B d be (b) b **je**n a p q Þ fo the 60% ten f ev ie O ø **6** \$20,000 te ten Ħ it lw jen 6 **B**V ğ a p p ø t is to p & **p** bov man þ it I/v ø ta met Б**Ы** 6 \$ b ig b o (b) b to√ ge **62**7 o ba аÐ b p q 6 to 60% ten ₽ K d B m B by attage б а**б** ьб ₩ ÌΕ 6 þ o **b** ø Ð o b te ja þ bn ij o ba ø ij o d Þ de de ā bn þ Ø ₩ b b ġ b (b) b **6 b** 60% **W**V 8 ₩ þ b б **b**n b gn 6 **6** b a **b** Ģ **HEB** 

2. Travel to read and represent: FDC requests that the budget line for this program be increased by \$20,000.

Rationale: 60 for the tipe in ba√ **\$** Ģ g þ ijσn 6 **b** in Na Ø jaj 📙 b **10**1/ Ø٧ d 6 b is to tel Ð 'n **t**a 8 б h 🙀 Ģ bn Ħ ø Ð a b þ 'n by d b ₽ b W þ 9 a b СÐ þ Ь б b Đ d b ø٧ d Ħ O to the bill **ie**h gn İξ

б p q ø s **p** × ₽ D d o t ₽n by byn **6** O ij b ta te o Br ø R gn Œ İ is \$1250, **ta**v is **ta**v it ba b B ¥ 2008æ in **b** gn 2009. **W** бÖ q is a in 0 it by m b b Ь Ģ ₿ ob iga 8 Þ б a**g** Ø Ð Al 6 b þ **d 6** ₿ ė Αġ a bi \$20,000 **b** 'n **te** B (t) b

#### PAST FACULTY COMMENCEMENT SPEAKERS

1988 John Brennan

1989 Ronald J. Fiscus

1990 Colleen Burke

1991 Ronald Seyb

1992 Jacqueline Azzarto

1993 Gregory M. Pfitzer

1994 Robert Mahoney

1995 Sarah Goodwin

1996 Thomas Davis

1997 John Conway

1998 Patricia Ferraioli

1999 Thomas Lewis

2000 John Brueggeman

2001 Flip Phillips

2002 John Anzalone

2003 Sheldon Solomon

2004 Beau Breslin

2005 Tadahisa Kuroda

2006 Carolyn Forche-Mattison

2007 Linda Hall

2008 Barbara Black

2009 Gautam Dasgupta

2010 Winston Grady-Willis

2011 Erica Bastress Dukehart

2012 Grace Burton

2013 Beck Krefting

2014 Peter McCarthy

# Email from Paty 11/13/14

## **Faculty Nominations**

- \* Ron Seyb (6 nominations)
- \* Sheldon Solomon (6 nominations)
- \* Erica Bastress-Dukehart (4 nominations)
- \* Bernie Possidente (3 nominations)
- \* Bob Turner (3 nominations)
- \* Grace Burton (2 nominations)

- \* Beau Breslin (2 nominations)
- \* Linda Hall (2 nominations)
- \* Mehmet Odekon (2 nominations)
- \* Barbara Black (2 nominations)
- \* Paul Arciero
- \* Michael Arnush
- \* John Brueggemann
- \* Carolyn Chernoff
- \* Caroline D'Abate
- \* Nurcan Atalan-Helicke
- \* Gautam Dasgupta
- \* David Domozych
- \* Hugh Foley
- \* Kristie Ford
- \* Bina Gogineni
- \* Deb Hall
- \* Heather Hurst
- \* Rebecca Krefting
- \* Richard Lindeman
- \* Tillman Nechtman
- \* Mary Odekon
- \* Pat Oles
- \* Bernard Possidente
- \* Pushkala Prasad
- \* Lawrence Reed
- \* Rik Scarce
- \* Casey Schofield
- \* Kimberly Tauches