Faculty Development Committee Meeting Minutes April 7, 2015 3:45

Present:

Shirley Smith (Chair) Jim Kennelly (Faculty Representative) Greg Pfitzer (Faculty Representative) Rachel Roe-Dale (Faculty Representative) Paty Rubio (Associate Dean of the Faculty) Bill Tomlinson (Director, Sponsored Research)

1. The committee approved the minutes of March 31st.

2. The committee considered, and approved, a new enhanced full-year sabbatical application.

3. The committee was informed that the administration was unable to provide any additional funding to bridge the shortfall between the total amount requested for faculty development grants, and the amount of funds still available for the awards.

4. The committee reviewed in detail (for the second time) all faculty development grant applications and, after much discussion, agreed on the faculty development grant awards for the May 1 – December 31, 2015 award period. Not all grant applications could be funded during this cycle.

5. The committee agreed on those faculty development grant awards to be designated as Doris E. Morgan Scholars awards.

6. The committee reviewed all applications for the Kress Creative Pedagogy Award, and agreed upon an award winner.

7. The committee reviewed all applications for Emeritus Faculty Development awards, and agreed upon its recommendations for awards.

8. Because of the absence of one member, the committee decided that it would NOT meet for its regular meeting on April 14, but would meet on April 21st to consider those nominees for the Ciancio award who have agreed to submit materials for evaluation.

9. The meeting concluded at 5:15.

Respectfully submitted,

Ja 9. K

James J. Kennelly