INSTITUTIONAL POLICY AND PLANNING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES April 20, 2012

PRESENT: Denise Smith, Vice Chair; Susan Kress, Michael West, Mary Lou Bates, Rochelle Calhoun, Beau Breslin, Joshua Ness, Riley Neugebauer, David Karp, Joe Stankovich, Justin Sipher, Peter von Allmen, Anne Petruzzelli, Ethan Flum, Gail Cummings-Danson, Erica Bastress-Dukehart, Barbara Black, and Barbara Krause (Secretary).

ABSENT: President Phil Glotzbach, Chair; Michael Casey, Paul Calhoun, Michael Ennis-McMillan, and Jonathan Zeidan.

1. Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the April 6, 2012 meeting were approved with one revision.

2. FY13 Budget Planning

Vice President for Finance & Administration Michael West referred members to the proposed list of New Initiatives for FY13. (In a subsequent e-mail, Mr. West clarified the amount originally requested by Academic Affairs to increase funding for sabbaticals.) The FY13 budget allocates \$500,000 for New Initiatives. Vice President West reported that IPPC's Budget & Finance Subcommittee had discussed the proposed New Initiatives; the subcommittee expressed general support for the proposed allocation but offered no formal recommendation to the full IPPC.

Vice President West reminded members that the document identifies proposed funding for New Initiatives of \$500,000 from the Operating Budget; it also summarizes one-time initiatives in the amount of \$243,000 to be funded with over enrollment funds and identifies \$225,000 in spending related to fundraising campaign activity to be paid for from an additional draw on the endowment.

Members asked several questions to clarify specific dollar amounts and to inquire about specific items. Without objection, IPPC voted to endorse the proposed New Initiatives as presented.

3. Political Activity Policy

Barbara Krause reported that the Working Group has proposed revisions to address feedback received from the faculty (Committee of the Whole discussion at the April 6, 2012 Faculty Meeting) and from the SGA Senate (April 17, 2012 meeting). The

IPPC Minutes April 20, 2012

5. IPPC Vice Chair 2012-13

Vice Chair Smith reported that, consistent with IPPC's Operating Code, she and President Glotzbach had conferred with one another and consulted with FEC to nominate a faculty member of IPPC to serve as Vice Chair during 2012-13. The nominee is Erica Bastress-Dukehart – who, consistent with the practice in recent years, will be the faculty member serving in the second year of her term. **IPPC members voted unanimously to elect Professor Erica Bastress-Dukehart to serve as Vice Chair for 2012-13.** Members expressed their support for Professor Bastress-Dukehart, and their thanks to current Vice Chair Denise Smith, with a warm round of applause.

6. Other Business

Dean of Student Affairs Rochelle Calhoun reported that what has been known as the Career Services Office will be re-launched officially today as the Career Development Center.

Members offered congratulations to two IPPC members who were selected to receive President's Awards: Vice President for Academic Affairs Susan Kress and SGA President Jonothan Zeidan.

Please notify Barbara Krause of any changes to these minutes.